The beginning – a good place to start.

I’ve been thinking about what kind of entry to start this blog with.  It seems like introducing myself and the blog is a good starting point.

My name is Rick.  (Awesome beginning, huh?)  The title of this blog obliquely reveals two very important facts about me.

The Light refers to the Light of Christ, for I am a follower of Jesus Christ.  Hopefully, that is the most important fact about me.  It should be self-evident all of the time, but I’m afraid it isn’t.  Many of my discourses here will deal with the joys and frustrations of the life of one who wishes to follow Jesus with all his heart whereas the rest of his body seems to want to go another way entirely.

Now to the second part of the title…

In the first of St. John’s letters, he refers to the advantages of walking in the light (“…if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another…”).  The reference to limping in the title could easily be regarded as metaphor.  After all, most of us who desire to walk in that Light tend to wander in and out of it, limping at times, crawling and stumbling at other times.

While that metaphor is applicable in my case, the actual intent is literal.  I do, in fact, limp.  The cause is one of the other driving forces in my life: I have Multiple Sclerosis (MS).  It manifests itself in a number of physical disorders, but the most visible is the limp caused by weakness on my right side, most notably the leg.

No doubt I’ll wax philosophical on the vagaries of MS from time to time in upcoming posts.  For now, suffice it to say that MS is no picnic.  By the grace of God, however, and the love and support of many people in my life – I’ll single out my wonderful wife for special notice here – it has been far easier to handle than it could otherwise be.

One more note: I consider myself a writer.  One of the reasons for this blog is to practice aforementioned craft.  Even if no one reads these musings, they will be worth the time and effort.

But I hope someone reads them anyway…

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The beginning – a good place to start.

  1. Linda says:

    Hi, Rick – Since Scott just posted your last blog entry on facebook, I have discovered your blog. I love it. It’s been way too long since I last had the chance to see a Conti/Blaufuss skit. It’s wonderful to experience your creativity and thoughts here. Both of you, since Scott is your chief commentator. 😉

Now tell me what's on your mind...

