Where does the time go?

Gee, Rick, you aren’t “working”.  So, besides reading, how else do you use your copious spare time?

I’m glad I asked, so that I could add a new post.

I’ve undertaken the quixotic quest of becoming a screenwriter.  Actually, I am a screenwriter in that I’ve written screenplays, seven to be precise.  Selling is another matter and having a film made yet another.  Each of  those levels of achievement is akin to winning the lottery – the odds are low and the rewards high.  The difference is that at least I have a little (very little) control over my odds of hitting a jackpot.

Regardless of the payoff (or lack thereof), screenwriting is a highly enjoyable process for me.  Lots of writers struggle mightily with the blank page (or screen or mind, as the case may be) but I love it.  I love creating stories, characters, situations, and jokes.  To me, that’s one of the chief areas that reveal the truth that we are created in the image of God.  As God creates, so, by His grace, might I.

Not that I’m necessarily excelling divinely at the craft.  The problem is that I have no idea if I’m any good.  It’s hard to get an independent (and skilled) assessment of one’s writing without dropping a serious wad of cash on some so-called script doctor.  The biggest problem may be that circumstance summarized so succinctly by William Goldman (“Princess Bride“, “Butch Cassidy…“; no slouch, he) when he said, “In Hollywood, no one knows anything.”  I’ve found that to be true, though not necessary restricted to Tinsel Town.

Oh, but there appears to be one exception to Goldman’s First Rule of Ignorance: Pixar.  They have never missed.  They must know something.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

