A first for me…

I’m discovering one of the joys of having a blog.  When something out of the ordinary happens, I can write about it as a way of processing the experience.  Today, for instance, I encountered something truly unique.  I’ve never seen it before and likely never will again.

I went to visit a friend who is laid up in a rehab center.  It took a few wrong turns before I found the place, but find it I did.  The center is located in a pastoral setting that is surely conducive to one’s rehabilitation.

After entering the building, I strolled down the hall to where the signs indicated my friend’s room would be.  When what to my wondering eyes should appear but… a llama.  You read right: A llama was coming up the hall in my direction.  Was this my friend’s most recent visitor?  Maybe I don’t know him quite as well as I’d thought.

Taken aback, I spoke aloud, “Now there’s something you don’t see every day.” Yet the good folks who labored in that hallway acted so nonchalantly that I wondered if maybe they did in fact see this vision on a daily basis.

That’s it.  No lesson, no revelation.  There was a llama wandering the halls of the rehab.   How can I improve on that?  The best I can do now is share one of my favorite poems, by my favorite poet, which happens to be perfectly suited for this situation.

 The one-l lama,
 He's a priest.
 The two-l llama,
 He's a beast.
 And I will bet
 A silk pajama
 There isn't any
 Three-l lllama.*

*The author's attention has been called to a type of conflagration known
  as a three-alarmer. Pooh.

- Ogden Nash

And my friend is improving, I’m happy and grateful to say.

I don’t think the llama has anything to do with that.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A first for me…

  1. JT says:

    Don’t you know why that llama was there? He works in the cafeteria. Well, it’s not so much a cafeteria as it is a delicatessen. That’s why they call him the “Deli Llama”. (Shades of Rocky & Bullwinkle…)
    -JT

  2. Pingback: Dashtop computers | Limping in the Light

Now tell me what's on your mind...

