Laughing babies

Confession time: I’m a sucker for laughing babies.  They appear on YouTube (and even in real life) on a regular basis and I can’t resist them.  They make me laugh, they bring me joy.  There’s something about a laughing child that cuts through cynicism, fear, and hatred like a Coast Guard cutter breaking through floes of ice to save not just a life, but humanity.

The internet is overflowing with these cuties and I could watch them all.  Babies are nearly perfect.  It’s no wonder Jesus said, “the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.”

The latest and maybe greatest video is of a baby named Emerson who is freaked out by his mother blowing her nose.  Check it out…

This is so precious, hysterical, and exhilarating, I could watch it about every three minutes, which gives me two minutes to enjoy and recover from the effects of viewing the one minute snippet.

I can’t be alone in my obsession.  Baby Emerson has over 7,000,000 views as of this writing and “Baby Laughing Hysterically at Ripping Paper” has over 12,000,000.  Those numbers represent more than a mere desire for entertainment.  There’s a need being filled here.

With all the insanity swirling around our world, threatening to turn it inside out or at least turn us each inside out, I believe we need that innocent laugh.  It’s an escape, yes, but it’s also a submission to purity, joy, and love.  Just as we need to pull the car over and refill the tank (at more than $3.50 a gallon, no less) we need to stop and refill our souls.  They are often empty because this world can only drain us, it can’t fill.

The Psalmist says that “children a reward from him [God]”.  Those children don’t even have to be my own.  Their laughter is reward to me and any young enough to hear it.

Baby Laughing Hysterically at Ripping Paper

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General, Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

