The End of the World as We Know It…

I should probably give this post a lot more thought than I am giving it now.  I’m doing something I have always advised against: writing while upset about something.  Yet here I am, ticked off and writing about it.  The motivation is that I haven’t written anything here for a while and I don’t want this topic to go unrecognized.

We all know that “Judgement Day” has come and gone with no rapture, no judgement, no return of Christ.  Heck, we didn’t even get a mild thunderstorm.  Enough, already!  I’m just so sick and tired of people who are making Jesus look like a fool.  He isn’t a fool.  He deserves better.  In Psalm 55, David was being prophetic when he said,

12 If an enemy were insulting me,
I could endure it;
if a foe were rising against me,
I could hide.
13 But it is you, a man like myself,
my companion, my close friend,
14 with whom I once enjoyed sweet fellowship
at the house of God,
as we walked about
among the worshipers.

No, it isn’t the atheists, the hedonists, or the other “enemies of the church” who are doing this.  It is those who claim to be His followers.  Atheists haven’t yet learned that they don’t need to attack the church to destroy it.  We seem to be doing a great job all on our own.

We don’t follow Christ so much as hide behind His robes.  We use Him (and His Father) to justify what we would have done if we’d never heard of Him.  He didn’t tell anyone to bomb black churches in the 60’s or abortion clinics in the 90’s.  Contrary to the posturing of the Tea Party, He hasn’t take a public stand on taxation.  (Except that he told us to do pay taxes.)

And He sure as hellfire (pun intended) didn’t tell us when He would return.  In fact, He told us explicitly that no one knows.  (“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son”)  Thus, each prediction ensures that he won’t return on that appointed day.  (Thanks a lot, Camping.)

I’ve had it.  I’m considering joining Anne Rice in her disavowal of all things Christian.  She may have gone overboard and I don’t agree with all her reasoning, but I am in complete agreement with her overall sentiments.  I love Jesus, but I don’t want to be lumped in with His followers.  Who would want to be connected with a bunch of wackos who sell their belongings because the world was going to end?  What, exactly, was that supposed to prove?

Do I really want people to consider me in the same light as those who think it’s OK to horde the world’s resources while ignoring the cries for help from anyone outside their suburban enclaves?  All this as proof that God is blessing them?

I can’t completely give up on Christianity, though, because I know too many decent people in the Church who are honestly trying to follow Christ.  They love and help their neighbors.  They go to places like Haiti and Kenya and Dorchester because that is where God has sent them to show His love.  They sacrifice their time, resources, and sometimes even their lives to serve the One who did the same for them.  I’m not worthy to be counted among that group, but I like being part of it.

Frankly, I think those folks are outnumbered.  They certainly receive far less press.  But their work has eternal consequences.  Jesus doesn’t need anyone to defend Him, but He also doesn’t deserve to have His Name dragged through the mud.

We crucified Him once already.  Wasn’t that enough?

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

