Not dead yet!

NotDeadNo, I’m not dead yet, though you might have thought so since it’s been almost three weeks since my last post.  My reasons are plenty, my excuses few.  Fortunately, they all have to do with the chief topics of this blog, so let’s just refer to the gap as “research” time and call it a draw.

Below, you will find my explanations…

TriviaNightLogoSmallHaiti has taken the majority of my time, energy, and mental capacity as I prepared for the Fourth Annual Servants for Haiti Trivia Night and Silent Auction.  (I could have written off a week just typing that name.)  The good news is that the event was a success.  Very few glitches, some good feedback, and a lot of income to feed the furnace of philanthropy.  See the event recap here.

MS is always a big part of how I spend my time, whether I like it or not.  As usual, I’m serving as de facto social director of LEGEND: Lexington Eating Group with an Extreme Neurological Disorder.  Beyond that, I’m preparing for another annual event, the MS Society’s fundraiser, “Bike MS: Ride the Vineyard“, wherein I combine a taste of hell with a taste of heaven: Martha’s Vineyard.  If you are so inclined, feel free (in fact, feel encouraged) to support me and/or my team on the ride.  Here are the pertinent links:

MSMVMy support page.
My wife’s page.
The team’s page.

Finally, I’m writing, as usual.  (That’s what writers do.)  Finishing touches are being put on a screenplay that is due to be entered in a competition soon.  There’s a novel version of the same story that’s in need of a rewrite.

Jesus remains at the center of my life.  He makes all this other stuff meaningful.  Those are the activities that fulfill Saint Paul’s declaration that “we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”  I’ll keep doing them as long as He lends me strength.

And lucky you get to read about it all.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Haiti, Jesus, MS, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

