Irrelevant on the road

cellbikeFriday I was invisible at the mall.  Lately I’ve noticed my irrelevancy everywhere else, but especially on the road, whether on two wheels or four.  Or two feet.

No one calls me on my cell phone while I’m driving.  The only thing I can do is simply drive.  Not being overdue for some fateful meeting, there’s no excuse for running red lights, speeding, or any of those other fun risk-taking activities.  While it’s tempting to believe that the vehicles weaving between lanes or ignoring traffic signals are being driven by irresponsible morons, I’m pretty sure they’re all on their way to performing life-saving brain surgery.

Last week, I was stopped at a crazy-busy intersection on my bike waiting for the crossing light to come on.  Out of the corner of my eye, a blur whizzed by through the intersection.  The guy riding his bike directly in the path of cars must have been wicked important.  Why else would he risk his life to get through the traffic so fast?  I’ll bet the driver of the car who had to slam on his brakes to avoid hitting the bike had no idea what an important person he barely avoided killing.

Where’s the challenge in riding my bike without having my cell phone pasted to my ear like the woman I just passed?  Sure, she was weaving all over the bike path, but she was probably advising the President on some critical foreign affairs issue.

Walking along the seaside, as I was this weekend, all I had to occupy my attention was the same old beauty of creation: spectacular clouds, crashing waves, the sand between my toes.  ((yawn))  How I envied the person who nearly walked into me as he was absorbed in his phone call.  (He might have been watching cute kitty videos on YouTube, but more likely was talking someone through landing a Boeing 767.)  Now, that’s relevant!

Irrelevancy, like invisibility, is underrated.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irrelevant on the road

  1. margaret leavister says:

    Hi Rick, To afford a second vehicle before my kids left home, I had to drive a van for special needs students for many years. It made me learn how to put up with some of the rudest people on the planet, who were also those who thought I was the stupidist driver on the planet. One of the good things I got from this stressful job, was that, after 15 years of such driving, I learned to feel really sorry for these rude ones, as they probably didn’t have pleasant lives at that time. And as you said, they had very important things to do/ important places to get to. Not like us. Which is fine with me.

    • rickconti says:

      Agreed, Margaret. It’s some mild and sadistic consolation to me that some sins (like a miserable temperament that often manifests itself while driving) carry their own punishment.

  2. robstrong says:

    I like your writing, Rick. Thanks. I also appreciate your humor and perspective. Keep it up.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

