Everything I Own

bread1Here’s a confession: Besides all the rock’n’roll, I’m a sucker for a good schmaltzy love song.  The masters of that genre were a band called Bread, led by the extraordinary  David Gates.  (Anyone who can write songs that melt the hearts of millions of people definitely has an extraordinary, if far too often undervalued, gift.)  I love this band!  They had as much a grip on my youth as any musical influence.  When I dream of romantic love, these are the songs that are playing in the background.

One of their biggest hit songs, “Everything I Own” is not your typical love song.  It’s about love, alright, but not the romantic kind.  Here are some of the lyrics:

Is there someone you know,
You’re loving them so,
But taking them all for granted?
You may lose them one day,
Someone takes them away,
And they don’t hear the words you long to say.

Those lyrics were written by David Gates after – and about – his father’s death, hence the love song.

A few recent experiences got me to thinking along this line.

First, someone close to me had a health scare.  Second, I thought about a person who, after losing his spouse, spoke more glowingly about her than he ever did during her life.  Why?

The major inspiration, however, was a video I saw online about a relatively young high school teacher who passed away.  After her death, her students got together and made a touching video expressing their love and appreciation for her.  I was really moved by the tributes the kids shared in the video.  If half of what they said was true, this women was an incredible teacher and human being.  My only hope is that she knew of their tremendous admiration while she was still in the land of the living – that they would never feel the regret of that song.

So it comes down to you, dear reader.  Is there someone you know, you’re loving them so, but taking them for granted?  There’s a simple remedy.

Express those emotions.
Announce your affections.
Proclaim his praises.
Sing her superlatives.

You never know when the time will come when you won’t get the chance.

Please don’t save it for the eulogy.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything I Own

  1. Carol Powers says:

    Hey – I have kept all your posts for someone I met and lost her email account. I found it and will be sending all your posts to her. I am reading some of them again and this one hit me hard. We forget to tell the One and ones in our lives what He or they mean to us. Thanks Cuz for keeping me on my toes!.

    • rickconti says:

      Can we possibly express our love and appreciation for others too much? I don’t think so. Certainly better too much than too little.

      Thanx for your thoughts, Carol. Lest I forget, I love you, too!

Now tell me what's on your mind...

