Ode to cinnamon and garlic

DSCN7517When it comes to food preparation, these are the essentials: Cinnamon and garlic.  It’s a rare dish that can’t be improved by one of these seasonings, though I’m at a loss to think of something that would benefit from both.

I love’em both and add them to my food as often as possible.

Not only are their flavors delectable, their aromas are wonderful.  Think of an Italian kitchen swirling with the scent of garlic bread.  Harken back to a time when you came down the stairs for breakfast and were greeted by the fragrance of fresh baked cinnamon rolls.  Those sensations are hard to beat.

As if that weren’t enough, they’re both good for you, too!

The health benefits of garlic are well known.  It helps your heart and blood, though it doesn’t exactly do wonders to your breath.  It’s available in pill form, but why would you want to bypass that scrumptious flavor in a pasta dish, on pizza, or in a marinade?

The same goes for cinnamon.  Plenty of good health effects, including, if its proponents are right, improved mental acuity.  Like garlic, you can get it as a supplement, but I prefer to supplement my toast, apple cider, or pie, thank you.  (Is there a better food combination than apples and cinnamon?)  There are even studies that say cinnamon’s scent alone has benefits.  I don’t know about that, but it makes me hungry and reminds me of home.  That’s stress-reducing, which I know is good for me.

Not earth-shattering news, but it was on my mind.  Great tastes, health benefits.  Can’t ask for a whole lot more than that.


On a totally unrelated tangent, I’m approaching my 250th post.  That’s quite a milestone, one I never considered reaching.  To commemorate it, I’m splitting this blog in two.  “Limping in the Light” will remain.  It will deal exclusively with the two topics referred to in the title: Limping as in MS and Light as in the Christian faith.  As often as possible, both topics will be considered.  Of necessity, I’ll cut down the frequency to a single post a week. 

The title of the other blog is still under consideration.  That blog will be my general writing platform.  Anything will be fair game, but writing will be the primary purpose and point.

This change is intended to give the posts some focus for their respective audiences.  Folks who only care about MS related stuff can follow the old blog and will no longer have to put up with inane rambles such as the one above. 

Also, since I’m attempting to publish or otherwise sell some of my writing, the second blog will be where I point people interested in following that quixotic quest.

The change is unlikely to increase the total number of posts I put out there.  There are still only so many hours in the day.  Last time I checked, that amounted to 24 and I’m using them all.

Thanx for reading.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ode to cinnamon and garlic

  1. Nikki CB says:

    Add me to your email notifications for your new blog! Or I will. 🙂

    Makes me want to eat something delicious.

    • rickconti says:

      It’s all I can do to resist cutting off another slice of the garlic bread I bought yesterday. It has entire garlic cloves baked into it! All it needs now is a little cinnamon. 🙂

Now tell me what's on your mind...

