Do I know you?

KerryMunsterSounds like a tired pick-up line, doesn’t it?  “You look familiar, do I know you from somewhere?”  My problem is that I could say this every day, several times a day.  Nearly everyone looks familiar to me.

Think about it.  There have been billions upon billions of faces that have walked the orb of earth.  Everyone talks about having a twin somewhere.  That may or may not be true but, given the odds, there’s bound to be someone somewhere (and maybe some time) who looks enough like you to confuse someone somewhere (sometime).  It will confuse me at least.

ZeppoGronkIt comes of age, mostly.  Every year I see more and more faces in more and more places.  They’re on the street, on the bike path, on TV, in movies, on the internet, in newspapers and magazines and books.  Let’s face it (pun intended), there are a lot of faces out there.  It’s a blessing and a curse to have a good memory for faces.  Sure, you’ll always remember that old friend, but you’ll also mistake someone else for him eventually.

That’s why we need to be forgiving of others if they confuse us for someone else.

In fact, why not be forgiving of everyone.  Chances are, whatever they’ve done to you was a mistake.


 If it seems the posts are getting more random and maybe even terse, you aren’t mistaken.  I’m losing my bearings as I hurtle headlong toward the auspicious post #250 when this blog will bifurcate.  (Look that one up in your Funk and Wagnall’s.  I actually used to have a Funk and Wagnall’s encyclopedia.  Remember encyclopedias?  There won’t be any door-to-door Wikipedia salesmen.  Forgive the multiple, nested digressions.  Where would writers be without digressions?)  Once the new blog(s) are up and running, I’ll try to be more focused.  Forgive the temporary lapse.
About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do I know you?

  1. Susan Fedric says:

    I have said to my husband many times how J.K. reminds me of Herman Munster!!!

Now tell me what's on your mind...

