Giving myself space

If you’ve read this blog very long, you know that one of my recurring themes (i.e. nags) that I’m not at all shy about driving home is the avoidance of stress.

It being MS I’m talking about here, I’d be a fool to generalize. However, speaking for myself, stress is the Bad Guy, my Arch Nemesis, Kryptonite. Thus I avoid stress like the plague it is. How? One of my major MO’s is to “just say no” to tasks, appointments, and commitments that I believe would put me over the edge stress-wise. (Note that I will still keep commitments I’ve made. I just won’t make new ones. Big difference.)

Case in point: This is an outrageously busy weekend. Writing a full length post today would keep me up too late. So…

I’m going to bed.

goodnight

 

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in MS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giving myself space

  1. Diane says:

    That was wonderful how You Ended Your Posting this week !!!!!!! πŸ™‚ I have yet to figure out what to do with Stress. I’d love to never deal with it, but it just doesn’t listen. I can’t say No because I. always think other’s needs are greater than my needs. So It’s still round, Loved your writing today, it made me Smile & I needed That :-). Hope you get to πŸ™‚ also

    • rickconti says:

      Thank you for the kind words and the challenging thoughts, Diane. Yeah, the problem with stress is that we can’t control it and things out of our control stress us. Double whammy! I say no when I can. After some virtual tire irons to the side of the head, I’ve reconciled myself to the fact that I can’t save the world, so I don’t try.
      That said, here I am stressing over my trivia fundraiser for Haiti tomorrow night. (http://www.servantsforhaiti.org/70-2/) Will he ever learn? The smart money says no. :-O

Now tell me what's on your mind...

