2015 Martha’s Vineyard Bike MS trip report

MSMVIMG_20150502_125151681Every year, at least for the past decade, maybe more, I’ve ridden in the MS Society’s fundraising ride on Martha’s Vineyard. The most recent was this past weekend, hence the reason there was no post on Saturday. I was pedaling most of the day.

The great fear as each first weekend in May approaches is, what will the weather be like? May is a crap shoot in New England. It can deliver a snowstorm (I remember a May blizzard in my youth), a monsoon (evidence the nightmarish, frigid wind/rain storm I rode through in ’09) or a blessedly warm, sunny sparkler as we had last year.

I’m OTT OCD when it comes to following forecasts in the week before these rides. As sadistic meteorologists like to do, their prognostications were as volatile as airfares in the days leading up to the 5/2 event. One day I lived in dread of 30 MPH winds on a cold, cloudy day. A few hours later, I was promised calm air, sunshine, and mild temps. I’m happy to report that the latter won the day.

The air was cool but the sun was out in full force and warmed everything its rays reached. Winds were reasonable and, except for a one mile stretch along South Beach, not a major impediment. For that brief duration, it felt a bit like I was dragging a Frigidaire behind me.

For the most part, however, it was a weekend to remember, for all good things. There’s nothing like riding in salty sea air, among magnificent mansions and charming gingerbread homes, along bike paths that run through a state forest and along the blue Atlantic. The Vineyard is my home away from home so it’s that much more enjoyable.

For someone with MS, the sight of hundreds of people gathering for the purpose of raising funds to fight the disease or at least lighten the burden of living with it is gratifying and hope-raising. Having an army of cyclists on our side can’t be a bad thing.

I fell just a few dollars short of an ambitious fundraising goal of $3,000. If that troubles you, feel free to help me attain that mark by donating to my site HERE. Better late, as the saying goes, than never. Much Better.

I rode as part of a team, the Vineyard Square Wheelers, sponsored by the island resort, Vineyard Square Hotel and Suites. We’re pictured here in all our esprit de corps and joie de vivre and other French stuff, sporting our matching styling team jerseys:

IMG_20150502_100345958For those who supported any one of us or all of us, you have my profound and sincere gratitude. You were the wind at our backs.

You’ll be hearing from me next year!

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in MS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2015 Martha’s Vineyard Bike MS trip report

  1. yvonnedes123 says:

    Way to go Rick!!  Great job!! 

    MS Madness!A “Giggle More, Cry Less” Story of Multiple Sclerosiswww.yvonnedesousa.com From: Limping in the Light To: ymdcc6@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, May 4, 2015 11:34 PM Subject: [New post] 2015 Martha’s Vineyard Bike MS trip report #yiv1339413588 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1339413588 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1339413588 a.yiv1339413588primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1339413588 a.yiv1339413588primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1339413588 a.yiv1339413588primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1339413588 a.yiv1339413588primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1339413588 WordPress.com | rickconti posted: “Every year, at least for the past decade, maybe more, I’ve ridden in the MS Society’s fundraising ride on Martha’s Vineyard. The most recent was this past weekend, hence the reason there was no post on Saturday. I was pedaling most of the day.The grea” | |

  2. Nikki CB says:

    Awesome! So glad it went well.

    • rickconti says:

      Thanx, Nikki and family, for lending your support and your family members. A fun time was had by all. You have to come one of these years and share in the joy.

  3. Ken and Fran says:

    You are amazing! So glad to hear your great report!

    • rickconti says:

      More important, your generosity is amazing, Fran and Ken! I must admit though, that the entire time I was there, I kept thinking of how much fun it will be to share the island with the MrQ and family! 🙂 I know you’re as anxious as we are. Can’t wait!!!

  4. Laurie & Rich says:

    The Vineyard Square Wheelers, not only fit but so good looking.

    • rickconti says:

      I can’t deny what you say is true. Not even I can bring down such a great-looking crew. But we’d look even better with you guys along for the ride!

Now tell me what's on your mind...

