Ready, fire, aim!

This is a completely one-off post. Something happened on this blog recently that has saddened me profoundly. Only days ago, for some inexplicable reason, someone commented on a post that was almost six years old. You’d think a person would need a compelling reason to dig so far back.

The post was a fairly innocuous one with observations about a Midwestern town where I’d spent some time. For your reference, the post is here.

The comment, which I immediately trashed, is reproduced below, edited for general consumption.

You stupid <insert overused bomb word here> what do you expect when you go to a small Nebraska town? Of <insert overused bomb word here>ing course it isn’t going to have your typical luxuries!

I don’t even know where to begin with this thing. A few facts are obvious right away. First, this person – almost certainly a male – doesn’t have sufficient vocabulary to express his feelings. As someone once accurately opined, “Profanity is the attempt of a weak mind to express itself forcefully.” Second, he didn’t read, or more likely didn’t comprehend, the post, which had no intention of suggesting I expected luxury living in the town. Rather, my intent was simply to describe this friendly, laid-back town with its eccentricities, charming in its own way. Unless this is some misguided attempt to defend the place (which I don’t think requires defending) he also seems to be a narrow-minded bigot whose knowledge of small town life has been picked up from bad sitcoms.

I wasn’t saddened because I felt personally insulted or that blog had been slandered. Rather, it’s depressing to know that there are people out there who have nothing better to do than attack others for no apparent reason. It says a lot about the nature of discourse in our country: vitriolic, confrontational, and gutter-level.

Here’s another approach. It’s called a “dialogue”, a lost art in today’s political climate:

Comment: What exactly did you expect to find in a small town in Nebraska?
Answer: Exactly what I found.
Comment: So why did you go there?
Answer: To learn, which I did. A lot. I also appreciated being exposed to a new environment.

See how it works? We seek to understand each other, rather than immediately go into attack mode. Try it some time, commenter.

The bigger question is, why would anyone take all that time and effort to make a comment that does nothing more than display his own ignorance? At least I now know what Donald Trump supporters do in their spare time.

God help us all.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ready, fire, aim!

  1. Sandy Sullivan says:

    This is a common tactic brought on their ignorance. I choose to ignore! These commentators have nothing better to do with their time. It’s easy to pick a fight when one is on the other end of a computer. It may have nothing to do with you, the town visited or your writing. It’s got to do with them!
    So, be prepared for more, because it’s not going to get better!
    As you know me, I posted something about the food being thrown away from MB and that got so twisted (meant to be a charitable statement). And there are a lot of ‘God’ haters out there. If your commentary reflexes Him, be prepared. Watch for misspellings and bad punctuation, ’cause they’ll get you big time.
    God bless our world! 🙏❤️

    • rickconti says:

      True, true, true, Sandy.

      There used to be an old saying, “Writing letters to the editor is a sign of mental illness.” If that were so – and it very well might be – writing vicious comments on the internet is surely a sign of a sociopath.

  2. Paul S says:

    A sad incident, but thankfully one that is quite rare in the blogosphere. In my experience at least.
    Have a nice weekend!

    • rickconti says:

      I’ve had similar experience, Paul. Thankfully, this is only the second time in six years I’ve been on the receiving end of such an empty-headed (at least, empty of everything but profanity and poor judgment) comment. The other time was in response to a mildly negative review I wrote about the movie “Inception”, of all things. I simply questioned all the fawning praise the critics showered on what was in my estimation a fair but seriously flawed movie. Someone – obviously a member of some Christopher Nolan cult – thought I should have been horse-whipped for daring to blaspheme his name. ((sigh))

      Surprisingly, my last post (the one that elicited an “amen” from you) mourning this nation’s obsession with weapons hasn’t gotten any negative feedback. I thought every NRA yahoo in cyberspace would have been all over my virtual case with their usual lies and abuse. Not so. Yet.

      Thanx for your comment, Paul. Always good to hear from you.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

