Questioning MRI

QAI’m a child of the 60’s and unapologetic about it.

I was a hippie, a war protester, and a rock’n’roller when rock’n’roll was in its infancy. The values of that era continue to impact my behavior. I still have my old “Question Authority” button (somewhere) and I still follow that maxim. Nothing in my experience has led me to abandon the idea that authority needs to be held up to the light and examined scrupulously. If anything, all I’ve seen and heard in life only reinforces the view.

This attitude permeates even my view of MS care and the conventional wisdom thereof. When I read a new discovery from some “expert”, my first reaction is doubt. More often than not, my skepticism is warranted.

This came to mind recently when I read an article about MRI in a reputable MS periodical. The substance of the article, as far as my MS-addled brain can tell, can be summed up in the following series of statements:

  • If there are lesions in an MRI, you may or may not have MS.
  • If there are no lesions in an MRI, you may or may not have MS.
  • If there are new lesions in an MRI and you’ve already been diagnosed with MS, it may or may not mean you’ve already developed more disability.
  • If there are no new lesions in an MRI and you’ve already been diagnosed with MS, it may or may not mean you’ve already developed more disability.
  • If there are new lesions in an MRI and you’ve already been diagnosed with MS, it may or may not mean you will have more exacerbations in the future and/or develop further disability.
  • If there are no new lesions in an MRI and you’ve already been diagnosed with MS, it may or may not mean you will have more exacerbations in the future and/or develop further disability.
  • If you’ve been diagnosed with progressive MS, the MRI will probably show no changes at all. Your doctor will keep ordering them anyway.

Got it? This is called “science”.

Can you see why I still wear that button in my heart?

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in MS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Questioning MRI

  1. Linda Aiken says:

    Amen!

  2. Jeffrey Marshall says:

    I think, by now, you know me well enough to know that you are “preaching to the choir”. Your missives continue to resonate as I applaud your wisdom and insight. Thank you.

  3. rickconti says:

    I’m not big on confrontation, so preaching to the choir suits me just fine. I’m glad you’re singing in that choir with me, Jeff!

  4. Pingback: Just say, “No, Doc.” | Limping in the Light

Now tell me what's on your mind...

