Twas the week before Christmas…

Twas the week before Christmas, so there was little time
to spend on a blog post or create a short rhyme.
My first book is gathering dust on a shelf.*
The next one is not going to publish itself

I wish I was nestled all snug in my bed,
but thoughts of this deadline dance in my head.
A blog post this week won’t be missed anyway.
I might as well punt the attempt for today.

But as I considered postponing the pain,
an interesting thought lit up in my brain!
Rather than light a candle or curse,
Why not parody a holiday verse?

But that poem is long and my time is constrained,
and the once a week schedule has been preordained.
So I’ll publish this bad boy to fulfill my vow,
but I’ll keep it real short and end it right now.

Merry Christmas!


Shameless Christmas self-promotion: Books make a perfect gift. Why not give that special someone this special book: “A Slippery Land”. Half of gross sales go to Haitian relief efforts till end of 2016.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twas the week before Christmas…

  1. Susan Fedric says:

    This great! I love word play! Merry CHRISTmas to you & yours, Rick!! 🙂

    • rickconti says:

      Thank you, Susan. It was fun to write. I wish I had time to make it the same length as the original, but that would have taxed my schedule and my readers’ patience. 🙂

      A very Merry Christmas to you, too. God bless us all, every one.

  2. powers.carol2@gmail.com says:

    Loved this Rick! Merry Christmas.❤

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Diane. Elsensohn says:

    That was Great, said with a SMILE. MERRY CHRISTMAS. :-). ❤

Now tell me what's on your mind...

