It’s not easy (or cheap) being green (or good)

`I try to do right as much as possible. Call me old-fashioned, but I believe there are some things that are “right” and some things that are “wrong”. That puts me out of favor with popular culture, but I’ll keep dancing with the dinosaur, as Steven Curtis Chapman sings.

One thing that’s right is reducing our footprint on this world of diminishing resources. So I recycle (only after refusing, reducing, and reusing, of course). That can be a hassle and it can cost a bit more to buy recyclable products*, but it’s worth it for the sake of my children and grandchildren. That’s another belief that has fallen out of favor: Living for the benefit of future generations. It flies in face of the Veruca Salt culture in which we live.

It’s also not cheap to eat well. All the MS diet advice we get involves consuming organics and specially processed (or unprocessed) foods that are more expensive and harder to come by than the run-of-the-mill offerings at your local grocery store. So you race around to Whole Foods (not called “Whole Paycheck” for nothing), Trader Joe’s, and farmer’s markets to get the Good Stuff. Just one more way MS is an expensive disease.

Yup, doing right for yourself or others eats up more money, time, and energy. But I wouldn’t want it any other way. Doing good should involve sacrifice. (Ask Jesus. He knows first hand.) One of my favorite stories in the Bible is a brief episode about King David buying some land from a guy so he can make an offering to God on it. In a blatant attempt to suck up to the powers-that-be, the land owner tells David he’ll give it to him for free. David wants no part of the deal. Instead of going for the freebie (as most of us would), he responds:

No, but I will buy it from you for a price. I will not offer burnt offerings to the Lord my God that cost me nothing.

David gets it. If he gives something that costs him nothing, he’s giving nothing. It’s not the thought that counts, it’s the sacrifice.

Do good because it’s good, not because it’s easy.


*  An excellent case in point is the ubiquitous Styrofoam. It’s almost impossible to avoid and even more difficult to recycle. And it’s forever. Why are we still making/using this crap? And what am I supposed to do with it?

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Jesus, MS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

