Sweet Charity

In the spirit of making the most of my limited time and energy during this, the most harried stretch of months on my calendar in any given year, I present sweet, simple advice on international aid.

When people learn of my love for and involvement with Haiti, they invariably ask, “What can I do to help?” The most common (and expected) answer is, give. Give to those who are doing the best work there. My usual suspects are Partners in Health, Servants for Haiti, and the Apparent Project. Having first-hand experience with each of those organizations, I have no reluctance recommending them. Others, not so much.

If you’re looking for a simpler, faster, and sweeter way to help, here’s my suggestion:

Eat chocolate.

Huh? Yes, you read right. I’m suggesting you purchase and consume chocolate to help out Haitian friends. But not just any chocolate. This one:img_20170225_123427971

This bar of chocolate, manufactured right here in my beloved home state of Massachusetts but sold only in Whole Foods stores, is sourced directly from family owned farms in Haiti. Contrary to the title of this post, this isn’t really charity at all. This is a business transaction that helps everyone.

  1. It helps Haiti develop and grow independent business from their own natural resources.
  2. It helps our own economy by supporting a local business.
  3. You get lots of awesome antioxidants.
  4. 84% dark?! It doesn’t get much better than that.

There you have it. Eat a bar of chocolate once a week and you’re helping our neighbors in the sweetest way possible, giving them opportunity and a fair shake, not handouts.


 

For all my friends with MS—and even more for my friends without MS—Happy MS Awareness Month! Celebrate by talking to a friend with MS. See? Another easy way to help.

About rickconti

It's not about me, remember?
This entry was posted in Haiti, MS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Now tell me what's on your mind...

